Spotlight: El B Icon Fashions

True Beauty Fold Over Clutch $29

Hey boos!!! I’ve been gone for a minute but now I’m back!!! I  wanted to take the time to spotlight a really dope designer by the name of Eleanor Wilson. She is the owner of El B Icon Fashions . I instantly fell in love with her unique handmade purses draped in bold colors and Afrocentric prints, when I spotted them on Instagram . Plus her price point was right on time for me. Y’all know I love to be fly and fashionable on a dime! The purses range from $25 to $40. By the way I own three El B Icon Fashion bags and every time I rock one of them I get so many compliments! My favorite is the Acacia Fanny Pack.*wink wink*

Keep scrolling to check out my interview with Eleanor and see how I styled two of her fabulous bags. Be sure to take a close look at the Acacia Fanny Pack. A mixed print look I created early in the year was the inspiration behind this bag! That alone has made my 2019!!! I can’t believe I have a purse named after me!! Thanks Eleanor!!

How long have you been designing handbags? Tell us all about your brand El B Icon Fashions.

I started my business in 2016 while on medical leave from work. I was mostly immobile, so I spent a lot of time on Instagram. I noticed that people were making money on Instagram. I saw a tutorial for a fold over clutch and I thought to myself I can make that. I made a camouflage clutch and posted it out on IG for sale. It sold in three minutes! I thought to myself ‘this could be a thing’!

Acacia Fanny Pack $38

The look that stirred up the inspiration!

I see you refer to yourself as Fashion Mompreneur what does that mean to you?

I am mom to four sons, one of which is still living at home. I have a full-time job, so I juggle career, mom duties, as well as, business owner.

Fashion designer Eleanor Wilson

What inspires you as a fashion designer?

I am inspired by the vibrant colors of my culture. Many of my designs reflect both African and Afrocentric fashion.

Not only are you a fashion designer but also an educator, how do you find the time to balance your career as a teacher and design your fabulous handbags?

To be honest, it’s a constant juggling act. But planning and prioritizing is essential when you have a full-time job, as well, as a business. I used to work eight hours a day, then come home and sew until 10pm. Recently, I’ve relegated most of my sewing to the weekends.

Big Hair Wallet $30

I know entrepreneurship has its ups and downs. So, what advice would you give other black women who are looking to start their own business?

I would say don’t wait until everything is perfect. Start where you are. I started my business almost four years ago and I have learned most of what I know about business is by experience. Don’t be afraid to make mistakes and continue to invest in yourself and your business.

Where do you see your brand in the next five years?

 I am in the process of expanding my business into clothing and accessories. I see myself retiring and working as a full-time business owner. I feel as though I have only scratched the surface with my business.

Be sure to check out El B Icon Fashions to spice up your look on date night or when step out with your friends!! 

Outfit Deets

Jacket – Zara

Pant – H & M

Sneakers – Nike

Turtleneck – Walmart